Once again, our Tyler Elementary GeoPlunge Team did us proud. On January 9th, our very own Tyler GeoPlunge Team competed in the 8th Annual DCPS citywide GeoPlunge Tournament held at the National Portrait Gallery.

We had two teams competing. One team consisted of Tyler students: Cenaria Fells – Watson, Nyla Shade, and Ajani Lee. Our second team consisted of Taylor Solomon, Alejandro Gonzalez – Evans, and Aaliyah Bunn. The team of Taylor Solomon, Alejandro Gonzalez – Evans, and Aaliyah Bunn made it through to the championship round and was called up on the stage and presented with Sportsmanship medals by the Chancellor’s assistant. Our other team received special coaches awards for perseverance and dedication. All six team members also received participation ribbons.

We thank our assistant principal Mr. Mitchell Brunson for taking the time to come to the tournament to lend us his encouragement and support. We thank our principal Ms. Jennifer Frentress for her helpful ideas and support. We thank the Tyler PTA for their encouragement and support. And last but not least, we again thank Akin Gump for their sponsorship, support, and encouragement. This year’s team was coached by head coach Mr. Joe Burno, and assistant coach, Mr. John Fauntleroy.