PTA

The Tyler PTA is an active and involved organization comprised of parents, guardians, teachers, and community members working to create opportunities for Tyler students and families. The PTA strives to be a powerful voice for all children, a relevant resource for families and communities, and a strong advocate for the education and well being of every child.

It supports parent initiatives and administrative goals through advocacy, event planning and fundraising.

The PTA sponsors numerous projects throughout the year such as Alchemy of Great Taste, Laps Around Lincoln, an Annual Meet and Greet before school starts, teacher appreciation projects, and assistance hosting and planning activities and events for the school.

The PTA understands the problem of feeling inundated with one event after another. If this is the case, all we ask is that you review the description of events and choose one or two that you think you are able to give your greatest support. Please remember that all efforts and monies benefit Tyler students and the Tyler community. Educational programming includes spelling bees, math nights, environmental awareness, and cultural diversity celebrations.  Computers, playground equipment, audio/visual equipment, and cultural enrichment programs are all examples of the use of funds raised.

PTA executive committee and general membership meetings are always open to everyone. A parent or teacher does not have to be a member to attend, but only those who are official members may vote in elections, approve the budget, or approve a bylaws change. At executive board meetings, only members of the executive board may vote on issues.  We encourage you to join the PTA and let us hear your voice.

Benefits of Active PTA Participation:

  • Studies show that students who see their parents involved at the school perform better in school than their peers.
  • You will learn more about what happens at Tyler and have a voice in what the PTA does to better support your child.
  • You will build relationships with teachers, parents, and staff to  make communication with them about the school easier.

If you are interested in volunteering and have not joined the PTA, please send an email to tylerpta@hotmail.com and let us know how you would like to be involved.

2015-2016 Executive Team

pta_2015–2016

Co-President:
Narissa Cooper – narissa.cooper@yahoo.com
Satira Corbitt – satira@juno.com

Vice President: Cherise Cole – chat4mba@hotmail.com

VP of Communications:
Meredith Baker – meredith.henne@gmail.com
Linsey Silver – silver@element47design.com

VP of Fundraising:
Capricia Albritton – capricia.albritton@dc.gov
Alisha Booth – alishabooth1@gmail.com

VP of Membership:
Anika Wilson – anikacd@yahoo.com
Veronica Wright – veronica.a.wright@gmail.com

Secretary:
Yolandra Diallo – anthonysjoy@yahoo.com
Tori Hawkins-Plummer – itstorih@me.com

Treasurer:
Michael O’Donovan – modonovan71@gmail.com
Stephen Sweeney – dcsween@aol.com

Program Representatives:
Creative Arts – Coach Mo, mabdullah@playworks.org
Spanish Immersion – Michelle Boorstein, michelleboorstein@yahoo.com
Special Education – Damian Forrest, damian.forrest@dc.gov
Special Education – Antonio Mazza, antonio.mazza@dc.gov